Gijón, 06 February 2006 - 10 February 2006





In memory of
Javier Chavarriga (Universitat de Lleida)
Pere Mumbrú (Universitat de Barcelona)

who were members of the DANCE Network


This is the Third Winter School in Dynamical Systems of the DANCE (Dinàmica, Atractores y Nolinealidad: Caos y Estabilidad) spanish network.

This series of winter schools aims at training their participants both theoretically and in applications in the field of the nonlinear science; with the aim that theory and applications enforce each other. This will be done in an atmosphere of informal discussion, interchange of ideas and critical discussion of results. Attention will be paid to the numerical and computational issues. These winter schools should help the basic training of young researchers, whilst opening new fields for senior ones.

The sessions will be held in E.U.I.T. Informática and E. U. Jovellanos. Both centers belong to the University of Oviedo and are located in Gijón, the most populated city of the spanish region of Asturias.

Download the poster





Lluís Alsedà (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona)
Amadeu Delshams (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya)


Toni Guillamon (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya)
Rafael Obaya (Universidad de Valladolid)
Pedro Torres (Universidad de Granada)
Pura Vindel (Universitat Jaume I)


José A. Rodríguez (Universidad de Oviedo)
Fátima Drubi (Universidad de Oviedo)
Belén García (Universidad de Oviedo)
Santiago Ibáñez (Universidad de Oviedo)
r Jesús S. Pérez del Río (Universidad de Oviedo) [Webmaster]
Antonio Pumariño (Universidad de Oviedo)

Download as a PDF file


Scientific Sessions

 Lattice differential equations - Shui-Nee Chow (Georgia Institute of Technology) & John Mallet-Paret (Brown University)


  1. Basic models
  2. Mosaic (equilibrium) solutions, patterns, spatial chaos, and topological entropy
  3. Traveling waves
  4. Pinning (including crystallographic pinning) for traveling waves
  5. The Fredholm alternative for differential-difference equations
  6. Orthonormal coordinates for traveling waves
  7. Wave propagation in random media
  8. Semi-discrete numerical schemes in conservation laws
 Topology of the plane and periodic differential equations - Rafael Ortega (Universidad de Granada)


  1. Periodic equations and isotopies
  2. Massera's Theorem
  3. Dynamics of free embeddings in the plane
  4. The index of a stable periodic solution
  5. Brouwer's Lemma on translation arcs
 Finite dimensional long-term dynamics of infinite dimensional dissipative evolution equations and their numerical reduction methods - Edriss S. Titi (University of California)


  1. The two-dimensional Navier-Stokes and the Kuramoto-Sivashinsky equations as prototypes for infinite dimensional evolution systems.
  2. Determining modes, nodes and other degrees of freedom for dissipative evolution equations.
  3. Finite dimensional global attractors.
  4. Inertial Manifolds and their parameterizations.
  5. Approximate Inertial Manifolds and nonlinear Galerkin methods.
  6. Post-processing Galerkin method.
  7. Is Galerkin the right numerical scheme for dissipative systems?
  8. Proper Orthogonal Decomposition (Karhunen Leove expansion): revisited.
 Joan Torregrosa, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (Spain)
 Lluis Alseda, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (Spain)
 Sara Costa Romero, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (Spain)
 Francisco R. Ruiz del Portal, Universidad Complutense de Madrid (Spain)
 J. Tomás Lázaro, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Ashraf Owis, Milano-Bicocca University (Italy)
 Cristina Chiralt Monleón, Universitat Jaume I (Spain)
 Beatriz Campos Sancho, Universitat Jaume I (Spain)
 Patricia Yanguas, Universidad Pública de Navarra (Spain)
 Pau Roldan, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Vesna Stojanoska, American University in Bulgaria (Bulgaria)
 Jose Manuel Benita Bordes, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Jesus Francisco Palacian Subiela, Universidad Pública de Navarra (Spain)
 Marcel Guardia, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Daniel Pasca, Centre de Recerca Matematica (Spain)
 Rafael Obaya, Universidad de Valladolid (Spain)
 Shui-Nee Chow, Georgia Institute of Technology (USA)
 Carmen Núñez, Universidad de Valladolid (Spain)
 Ana Maria Sanz, Universidad de Valladolid (Spain)
 Alejandro Luque Jiménez, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Gemma Huguet Casades, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Fátima Drubi, Universidad de Oviedo (Spain)
 Bruentjen Thorsten, LPT Orsay (France)
 Joan Carles Tatjer, Universitat de Barcelona (Spain)
 Primitivo Belén Acosta Humánez, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Josep Maria Mondelo, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (Spain)
 Oswaldo Jose Larreal Barreto, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Carme Olivé, Universitat Rovira i Virgili (Spain)
 Victoria Galiot Torronteras, Universitat de Barcelona (Spain)
 Montserrat Navarro, Universitat de Barcelona (Spain)
 Saverio Trioni, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (Spain)
 Elisa Maria Alessi, Universitat de Barcelona (Spain)
 Emilio Freire, Universidad de Sevilla (Spain)
 Set Pérez González, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (Spain)
 Elena Vyazmina, Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology (Russia)
 Pablo S. Casas, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Nicolas Pablo Maffione, Universidad de La Plata (Argentina)
 Kurt Fienberg, Vortice Research Group (Australia)
 Alexandrina Alina Tarta, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (Romania)
 Guillem Huguet Serra, Universidad Pública de Navarra (Spain)
 Jaime Jorge Sánchez Gabites, Universidad Complutense de Madrid (Spain)
 Oleg Makarenkov, Voronezh State University (Russia)
 Jordi Villanueva, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Marina Gonchenko, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Russia)
 Pedro Torres, Universidad de Granada (Spain)
 John Mallet-Paret, Brown University (USA)
 Ariadna Farrés, Universitat de Barcelona (Spain)
 Jorge Galán, Universidad de Sevilla (Spain)
 Adriana Buica, Universitatea Babes-Bolyai (Romania)
 Antonio Pumariño Vázquez, Universidad de Oviedo (Spain)
 Santiago Ibáñez, Universidad de Oviedo (Spain)
 J. Angel Rodríguez, Universidad de Oviedo (Spain)
 Edris S. Titi, University of California (USA)
 José Manuel Salazar, Universidad de Alcalá (Spain)
 Inna Basak, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Jesús S. Pérez del Río, Universidad de Oviedo (Spain)
 Joe Hill, Uinversity of Wales, Aberystwyth (United Kingdom)
 María Belén García Fernández, Universidad de Oviedo (Spain)
 Timofey Dragunov, Nizhny Novgorod State University (Russia)
 Clementa Alonso González, Universidad de Alicante (Spain)
 Paloma Gomez Ruiz, Universidad Complutense de Madrid (Spain)
 Pavel Bubak, Warwick University (United Kingdom)
 Rafael Ramírez Ros, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Ernest Fontich, Universitat de Barcelona (Spain)
 Matteo Franca, Università Politecnica delle Marche (Italy)
 Pau Martin de la Torre, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Vladimir Gonchenko, Nizhny Novgorod Research Institute for Applied Mathematics and Cybernetics (Russia)
 Pau Rabassa Sans, Universitat de Barcelona (Spain)
 María José Romero Vallés, Universidad de Granada (Spain)
 Juan Campos, Universidad de Granada (Spain)
 Mónica Molina Becerra, Universidad de Sevilla (Spain)
 Amadeo Delshams, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Roberto Barrio, Universidad de Zaragoza (Spain)
 Angel Jorba, Universitat de Barcelona (Spain)
 Rafael Ortega, Universidad de Granada (Spain)
 Miguel Antonio del Río Vázquez, Universidad de Santiago (Spain)