nodo  UOV
The Dynamical Systems Group of the University of Oviedo (GSD-UO) was created in 1992.

Our lines of research point towards fundamental problems within the field of Dynamical Systems. In particular, we are interested in the study of global configurations susceptible of presenting heterodimenional cycles and strange attractors, placing the emphasis on determining the singularities of smaller codimension from which the global configuration can be generically unfolded. In addition, our group is constantly curious about integrability, limit cycles and structural stability.

The main objectives of our research lines are:

  • Non-Uniformly Hyperbolic Dynamics and 2-Dimensional Strange Attractors: Study of heterodimensional cycles associated with geometric structures (called blenders) that involve a high number of new transitions and dynamical complexity; Determination of homoclinic tangencies that explain the persistence of non-hyperbolic strange attractors.
  • Singularities and Unfoldings of Vector Fields: Topological classification of singularities, incorporating new 4-dimensional topological types; Identification of those singularities that organize the chaotic dynamics; Analysis of singularities that arise naturally in coupled systems and that are associated with synchronization phenomena; Study of the Hopf-Zero, Hopf-Bogdanov-Takens and 4-dimensional nilpotent singularities.
  • Polynomial Differential Systems: Multiplicity of limit cycles; Study of quasi-homogeneous systems in dimension greater than or equal to three; Obtaining algebraic limit cycles in piecewise linear systems.
  • Applied Dynamic Systems: Numerical studies to the mechanisms associated with spike-adding phenomena in neuronal models and the analysis of the role that homoclinic bifurcations play in these models; Study of the dynamical systems related to climate processes.
 Fátima Drubi Vega (Coordinator)
 Begoña Alarcón Cotillas
 Paula Álvarez Lombardero
 Pablo Gutiérrez Barrientos
 Santiago Ibáñez Mesa
 Alejandro Marqués Lobeiras
 Diego Noriega Rodríguez
 Set Pérez González
 Lucía Pérez Pérez
 Antonio Pumariño Vázquez
 José Ángel Rodríguez Méndez
 Alfonso Ruiz Herrera
 Pablo S. Casas
 Jesús Suárez Pérez del Río
 Enrique Vigil Alvarez
logo Universidad de Oviedo
logo Universidade Federal Fluminense